Skip to content

I Love Media Studies!!!

November 21, 2010

There’s a new blog called I Love Media Studies.

But you don’t need another blog with ‘media studies’ in the title because you’ve got this one…

And anyway, what kind of bloody title is I Love Media Studies?

21 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2010 5:30 pm

    Coming soon, “I ❤ Media Studies", "Media Studies FTMFW" and "Media Studies h8r".

    Among others. They're closing in. Quick, man the barricades!

  2. November 21, 2010 10:35 pm

    Had to look up FTMFW. Was I the only one?

  3. Rabelais permalink*
    November 22, 2010 8:39 am

    Yeah, I looked it up to.

  4. November 22, 2010 10:28 am

    I am no longer down with the kids obviously.

  5. November 22, 2010 10:29 am

    Sorry, that should be we are no longer down with the kids.

  6. November 22, 2010 10:45 am

    Sorry. 🙂

  7. Rabelais permalink*
    November 22, 2010 11:05 am

    No need to apologise, Martin. It’s Garibaldy and I who are in the slow-lane with this one.

    What’s I<3? Googled it, but got nothing…

  8. November 22, 2010 11:11 am

    It’s like “I Heart Media Studies”.

    ❤ rather loosely looks like a sideways heart, so gets used in text messages and the like as an expression of love.

    Now you know, this is going to change your life, isn't it?

  9. November 22, 2010 12:01 pm

    I knew the heart thing, so I now feel more like a spring chicken compared to rab.

  10. Rabelais permalink*
    November 22, 2010 1:03 pm

    God, I’m always ‘behind the curve’. Actually, now I come to think of it, just knowing what a phrase such as ‘behind the curve’ means demonstrates how with it I am….

    …and then I go and spoil it all by using a phrase like ‘with it’. Doh! I’ll get me coat…

  11. November 22, 2010 6:44 pm

    I always thought you were hip, cool, and trendy Rab.

  12. Dr. Disco permalink
    November 22, 2010 10:58 pm

    ❤ should never be confused with <======3, which is something different entirely.

  13. Dr. Disco permalink
    November 22, 2010 11:32 pm

    After defiling or defacing your blog with the above, I thought I should at least add something intellectual or thoughtful or profound on the subject of “I Love Media Studies”. But I can’t. It serves as nothing more than a hideous reminder of our first year Media Studies seminars, in which we had to cut out pictures of Arnold Schwarzenegger and stick them to a piece of A3 paper.

  14. Rabelais permalink*
    November 23, 2010 1:58 pm

    Thanks for lowering the tone Dr. D. Hieroglyphic cocks, I can live with, but the thought of Media Studies undergraduates left unattended with scissors and glue, well frankly that fill sme with dread.

    • November 24, 2010 9:26 pm

      Maybe you could put a hieroglyphic ass on the top of the page. Or Lucy Liu’s.

  15. November 28, 2010 7:58 pm

    Thanks for the (sort of) promo and your thoughtful post. My students seem to prefer your blog… alas… I soldier on. As a sneak preview, my next post will be about ‘reflexivity in the media’.

    By the way, I do not have nearly as many exclamation marks as you report, or hearts or ❤ … the English teacher in me declines that sort of mass communication!

    All the best.

  16. Rabelais permalink*
    November 29, 2010 9:50 am

    Hello Mrs W.
    Good to hear from you. Although I am concerned that your young wards are reading this blog. I haven’t even told my own students about it.

    Your right though about my use of exclamation marks. There was no need for so many or any at all. I think I was just feeling vulnerable. I’ve been labouring under the assumption that I am the only blog with ‘media studies’ in the title. To discover another came as a shock. I shall just have to learn to share.

    Self-reflexive films? What about A Cock and Bull Story (a film about making a film). Or, also from Michael Winterbottom, 24 Hour Party People, which conives in its own mythologising of Factory Records’ Tony Wilson. I like the bit were Tony Wilson finds his wife having sex in a toilet cubicle with Howard Devoto. Then the real Howard Devoto materialises in the toilet and denies that the infidelity ever took place. (Hmmm, maybe not for kids though)

    There is Man with a Movie Camera by Dziga Vertov. I know that postmodernists often congratulate themselves with ‘inventing’ self-reflexivity in art and culture. But Vertov explicitly winds the film production process through the film. It even starts in an empty film theatre, with the audience arriving to watch the film.

    Does it have to be film? Can you use examples from TV. Buffy the Vampire Slayer (God how I miss it) is littered with examples. In fact, I often tell my students to save their money and just buy the seven seasons of Buffy and watch them instead of doing media studies. The series was effectively everything you need to know about TV and media studies condensed into one fantastic show.

    I’ll see if I can think of more…

  17. Dr. Disco permalink
    December 12, 2010 9:54 am

    4 years of media studies and I’ve no idea what a self reflexive reflexive film is. Whatever do they teach at that university? Perhaps I should read more of Mrs W’s blog.

Leave a Reply

