Skip to content

Comrade Paul O’Grady tells it like it is… It’s the same the whole world over, it’s the poor what gets the blame

October 29, 2010

.

Thanks to John O’Farrell for bringing this to my attention

5 Comments leave one →
  1. wartimehousewife permalink
    November 5, 2010 10:34 am

    I saw that – it was so funny. I have very mixed feeling about all the social cuts and I am one of the people who, it is said, will be most affected. I shall think long and hard about it before writing an article.

    Celeb moment: I once shared a dressing room with Paul when he was Lilly Savage. I used to follow his shows round London in the 80s/90s. He was absolutely lovely. Also shared a gig with Julian Clary when he was the Joan Collins Fan Club – he was both nice and extremely beautiful.
    Signed: A. Fag-Hag

  2. Rabelais permalink*
    November 6, 2010 7:43 am

    Where you in showbiz, Wartime? I’m sure you’ve mention it before.

    I thought Lily Savage was great, but I never warmed to Paul O’Grady until now. And I was a massive fan of the Joan Collins Fan Club, who as you say was gorgeous. I’m sure I wasn’t the only bloke who thought so.

    Funny how times change, Lily Savage and Joan were genuinely beautiful and glamourous looking, but when the League of Gentlemen or Little Britain dress up as women they are generally grotesques. Bring back the gorgeous drag acts.

  3. wartimehousewife permalink
    November 12, 2010 11:14 am

    I was in bands and we used to gig the London circuit and I had a lot of friends who worked in television and the music biz and I was a shameless hanger on. I also had a huge circle of gay friends and we used to go to see the drag acts at The Vauxhall Tavern, The Bricklayers and so we saw these lovely people.

    I’m so pleased that I made the most of London when I lived there. I went everywhere, saw everything, did everything – and now that I live in the country I don’t feel like I missed out. I don’t go down very often now and then only to see my family and I forget that, to my children, London is an exotic and wonderful place and I must make more effort to take them down.

    I take your point about grotesques – it’s fascinating isn’t it. In the 60s and 70s glamorous drag acts like Dick Emery and queens like Liberace were just thought of as entertainment and no more. In the eighties, androgeny was celebrated and out of that came these beautiful people, like Joan and Lily, Steve Strange, Marilyn etc and sexuality was very much an issue.

    I think that the grotesques are a reflection of the difficulties that men face in a time when masculinity is not valued and the demands on men are conflicted and inconsistent. Men are being told to be more feminine but are then ridiculed for it (or worse). They are not taught traditional blokey skills but then people complain that they’re useless. Grotesque indeed.

    Blimey, that was a bit deep. Shall I talk about French Fancies instead?

  4. Rabelais permalink*
    November 13, 2010 5:55 pm

    Rock ‘n’ Roll and recipes for nettle soup! Wartime, I have to say, you might be the most well-rounded individual I know. Fair play to you.

  5. wartimehousewife permalink
    November 15, 2010 5:59 pm

    Thanks ever so!

Leave a Reply

