Skip to content

Bloody scruffy lecturers

October 9, 2009
tags:

I’m a denim-clad kinda guy. I’ve been in Wrangler since I was sixteen years old. So imagine my outrage when I read that Birmingham Metropolitan College will send lecturers home to change if they come to work in jeans or scruffy trousers. The BBC reports that the dress code for staff requires tidy hair, business suits and skirts, no visible tattoos, no slogans on T-shirts or “ostentatious ear-rings”. Instead lecturers are being told to wear a “business suit; smart jacket and co-ordinating trousers or skirt; smart shirt/blouse/top and trousers or skirt; smart dress”.

bootboys74A college spokesperson said: “We deliver qualifications to over 8,000 16-19 learners and 30,000 adult learners, along with meeting the training needs of a range of businesses – it is therefore important that our staff present a professional image and a dress code is one of the policies we have always asked them to adhere to.”  Style over substance, anyone?

The ‘dandification’ of lecturing must be resisted. The UCU must raise a denim-clad New Model Army and stamp this sort of thing out. Denim is authentic. Denim is timeless. Denim is a state of mind. A good denim jacket and jeans is just as bloody expensive as a suit. I rest my case….

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2009 3:40 pm

    Ah, how sweet.

    Mrs Rab must be so pleased your mid life crisis is revolving round an attachment to youthful clothing rather than a motor bike or some unfeasible young other woman…:)

    • Rabelais permalink*
      October 10, 2009 5:41 pm

      Whadd’ya mean ‘youthful clothing’? Denim is the uniform of the middle aged boot boy.

      I tell you what though, I am having a bit of a mid-life crisis. I’ve suddenly developed this insatiable desire to live free and take to the road. I’ve been trying to get Mrs Rab to sell the house and buy a camper van instead. She say’s she has no objection to a camper van but she’s not selling the house. If I want to live in one, she says, I’m welcome. I can park it in the driveway and sleep there but I’ll be expected to do my share of the housework as usual. Christ, wouldn’t it just have been easier if I’d bought a Triumph and took off with an 18 year old Billie Piper look-a-like? Bloody mid-life. It’s worse than puberty. And that was awful. Still, there’s always retirement.

      What to retired boot boys wear? Probably denim jeans with elasticated-waists.

  2. October 11, 2009 10:47 am

    Ah yes, the middle aged boot boy look. Perhaps the semiotics of fashion work differently on, say, the Falls or the Shankhill, but here in Lambeth that look conveys one of only two things:

    1. I’m on my way to the local gay club for a wild night; or

    2. Basically I’m a swotty geek, but finally, finally I have mastered the art of blending in to the teenage milieu at my local youth club in 1974 and no-one is going to take that achievement away from me…

    • Rabelais permalink*
      October 11, 2009 11:03 am

      Hi Charlie,
      I’ve added a picture to this post. I’m the one in the middle. Of course it was taken before I grew the handle-bar moustache but me and the lads (pictured) are still attending the same youth club. To be honest, I think we look more Undertones than Village People.

  3. October 11, 2009 12:01 pm

    Ah now, it’s the neatness of those hems on the wide turn-ups which give it away. You were obviously just a Village People wannabe hiding behind the Undertones uniform….

    Anyway, here’s what I looked like back in the day http://itslifejimbutnotaswknowit.blogspot.com/2009/02/pro-devolution-post.html

    • Rabelais permalink*
      October 11, 2009 3:09 pm

      Handsome, Charlie. Like a young Oliver Reed.

  4. Dr. Disco permalink
    November 12, 2009 11:07 am

    Denim is definitely the way to go. It is hard wearing, which is necessary for all the crawling around on ones knees and puke is easily wiped off. Although I am of the GStar RAW generation, having missed Wrangler by ten years or more. The only disadvantage I find in wearing jeans is that I often get mistaken for a student, despite my attempts to look rushed, haggard and dissatisfied with life, juggling towers of files with cups of coffee, as i whirl through the halls of learning.

    PS As a beneficiary of a mid-life crisis, I can highly recommend it.

    Dr. Disco

    • Rabelais permalink*
      November 12, 2009 3:05 pm

      I am glad Dr D that you approve of denim, although I have to confess that I have no idea what GStar RAW is. It sounds slightly obscene.

  5. December 11, 2011 8:21 pm

    You could not be more correct…

Leave a Reply

