Skip to content

Winstanley at the BFI

March 16, 2009

The BFI Southbank in London is showing Kevin Brownlow and Andrew Mollo’s, Winstanley, from the 16th – 19th March. I can’t recommend this film enough. It depicts the brief period in the life of its emponyous hero when he lead a band of Diggers onto St George’s Hill and declared the earth a ‘common treasury’ in the awful wake of the English civil war. The film draws faithfully from the writings of Gerrard Winstanley, and this gives it a documentary authenticity, one drawback of which is that  it leaves its cast delivering some earnest but burdensome speeches. But really this is quibbling, for the film is visually rather beautiful and poetic. Check out the clip below to whet your appetite

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2009 7:48 pm

    Ah yes, the film my friend has so long spoken of. I can’t make to the BFI but I’ll try LoveFilm, sad-old-git-who-can’t-get-a-babysitter-at-short-notice that I am…

    & if you do happen to be my friend blogging anonymously – welcome to this strange and obsessive pastime. I’ll add you to my blogroll.

  2. April 7, 2009 9:44 am

    Oh no! Missed it. I interviewed the great Kevin for a Radio 4 programme on Anna May Wong (January). He mentioned this was out on DVD this year but I didn’t realise this was being screened at the BFI.

    Thanks for the reminder. I shall have to get myself a copy.

  3. Rab permalink*
    April 7, 2009 5:19 pm

    Just found Winstanley on DVD. Check out the link:
    http://www.moviemail-online.co.uk/film/57953/Winstanley/

Leave a Reply

