Skip to content

The last post

November 24, 2013

I learned recently that my friend Nigel Rogers had died. Readers of this blog (and others) will know him better as ‘Charlie McMenamin’. He contributed to the comments here regularly. In fact nobody has commented more.

I first met Nigel on the old Red Pepper forum where I made my first tentative steps into the world of internet forums and blogs. I liked Nigel immediately. His contributions were sharp, intelligent and good humoured,

He visited Belfast a few years ago and we arranged to meet in Crown Bar for the first time. I remember wondering if the transition from internet acquaintance to face-to-face meeting would make for an awkward encounter. But not at all. We simply picked up where we’d left off on the internet. We talked about politics, a lot; education policy, in particular; but family and football also. Nigel talked with enthusiasm, insight and wit about all these things.

We met up on an number of other occasions in London when we drank liberally and put the world to rights. Nigel was wise and skeptical. I have a tendency to be naive and rash, so I always benefited from Nigel’s good counsel on a range of issues. There are few people whose political judgement I trust like I trusted Nigel’s.

I miss him.

Nigel is given a much more fulsome obituary in the Guardian which gives a sense of his considerable talents and political commitment.

Nigel actually encouraged me to start this blog. It wouldn’t have occurred to me to begin blogging if he hadn’t mentioned it. So in a way it is perhaps fitting that this should be the last post on Media Studies is Shit. I’ve been an infrequent blogger for a while now and its time to move on. I’ll keep an eye on the comments from time to time.

Thanks to everyone who contributed over the years. Take care and best wishes.

Rab/Steve

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2013 5:58 pm

    sorry to here about this Steve.

  2. Jenny permalink
    December 13, 2013 3:33 pm

    Sorry to hear of the death of your friend and the decision to wind up the blog. I have enjoyed your posts over the years.

  3. Johnnywas permalink
    December 14, 2013 10:31 am

    Sorry to hear about Charlie (as I knew him).

    Sorry also to hear that you won’t be blogging.

  4. dr. disco permalink
    February 27, 2014 9:31 pm

    That’s a shame on both counts. I’m sorry to hear of your friend and sorry to hear of your exit from Blogland, although clearly I haven’t checked in while. Something made me think of you recently and that thought prompted me to look.

    Until our paths cross again…

    Dr. D.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

